NZ’s Manufacturing and Design (MaD) Network

The MaD Network is a newly formed community (2016) of New Zealand researchers in manufacturing and design, working in close collaboration with industry. This cross-disciplinary researcher network is focused on New Zealand’s manufacturing economy of the future.

Our MISSION is….

To develop expertise and capability in translational research, to grow New Zealand’s high-tech manufacturing economy

Our VISION is…

For New Zealand to be recognised as a leading, technology empowered economy driven by innovative, high-value, niche manufacturing and design

Initiated in 2016, the scope and membership of the MaD Network is quickly being established. MaD for the Future 2017 will be the network’s inaugural national conference, at which we will continue to refine who we are and what we do…

Who we are:

  • Researchers from New Zealand tertiary institutes, crown research institutes and companies who are willing and able to fulfil the MaD Network Mission
  • Industry representatives who are willing and able to fulfil the MaD Network Mission.
  • Those educating and those being educated for, or those participating in, New Zealand’s high-value manufacturing economy

What we do:

  • Focus on identifying and developing products and manufacturing sectors in which New Zealand can compete globally
  • Carry out active, collaborative research in disciplines of manufacturing and design that contribute to the MaD Network Mission
  • Conduct multi-disciplinary research, in the areas of Human Centred Design, Engineering Design, Manufacturing Processes, Manufacturing Systems and Innovation.

Development of the MaD Network is currently led from the Innovative Manufacturing and Materials Programme at the University of Auckland.
Funding for this initiative is provided by a University of Auckland Strategic Initiative Research Fund.

MaD Driver Team (Steering Committee)

•Olaf Diegel, University of Auckland (Lead)
•Kenneth Husted, University of Auckland
•Mark Taylor, University of Auckland
•Simon Bickerton, University of Auckland
•Claire Reyneke, University of Auckland (Operations)
•Enrico Haemmerle, Auckland University of Technology
•Johan Potgieter, Massey University (Palmerston North)
•Don Cleland, NSC10 & Massey University (Palmerston North)
•Mark Dyer, University of Waikato
•Simon Fraser, Victoria University of Wellington
•Conan Fee, University of Canterbury
•Shayne Gooch, University of Canterbury
•Debbie Munro, University of Canterbury
•Robert Blache, Callaghan Innovation
•Allen Guinibert, Fisher & Paykel Appliances
•Dieter Adam, The Manufacturers’ Network
•Catherine Beard, BusinessNZ / ManufacturingNZ / ExportNZ


MaD2019 Conference Committee

•Mark Battley, University of Auckland (Co-Chair)
•Jim Johnston, Victoria University of Wellington (Co-Chair)
•Claire Reyneke, University of Auckland (Operations )
•Stephanie Szmurlo, University of Auckland (Event Manager)
•Xun Xu, University of Auckland
•Jonathan Stringer, University of Auckland
•Marcel Schaefer, Auckland University of Technology
•Paul Woodfield, Auckland University of Technology
•Khalid Arif, Massey University (Albany)
•Mike Duke, University of Waikato
•Rachael Tighe, University of Waikato
•Tim Miller, Victoria University of Wellington
•Don Clucas, University of Canterbury
•Phil Anderson, Callaghan Innovation







This network is being developed in collaboration with, and will grow from, the institutes represented above, and those listed below:

University of Otago | Otago Polytechnic | GNS Science | Scion